THRILLER/HORROR BLACK WATER: ABYSS, RUSSELL CROWE’S ROAD RAGE THRILLER UNHINGED & FEEL-GOOD STAGE MOTHER ALL SET FOR IRISH CINEMA RELEASES THIS JULY

As cinemas across Ireland set to reopen in the coming weeks, Wildcard Distribution and Altitude are delighted to announce the theatrical release of three exciting titles in July – the thriller/horror BLACK WATER: ABYSS from 10 July, the Academy and BAFTA Award-winner Russell Crowe’s highly anticipated new psychological thriller UNHINGED from 17 July and the feel-good film of the summer STAGE MOTHER from 31 July.

BLACK WATER: ABYSS sees adventure-seeking couple Eric (Luke Mitchell AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.) and Jennifer (Jessica McNamee THE MEG) convincing their friends Yolanda (Amali Golden THE INVISIBLE MAN) and Viktor (Benjamin Hoetjes 10×10) to explore an uncharted cave system, in remote North Australia, with the help of the unpredictable Cash (Anthony J. Sharpe ROBERT THE BRUCE) as their guide.

As a tropical storm floods the caves the adventurers are trapped in the dark recesses underground, cut off from the outside world. As the waters rise, they soon realise they aren’t alone, and their desperate attempt to escape turns into a frantic man and woman versus crocodile fight for survival.

BLACK WATER: ABYSS locks its jaws onto the viewer from the opening scene and doesn’t let go. Fans of CRAWL, THE SHALLOWS and THE DESCENT will be sure to get their creature feature fix, with the perfect film to reintroduce them to the chills and spills of seeing a jump-out-of-your-seat horror thriller on the big screen.

Andrew Traucki – an established master at water-based terrors, having directed the original BLACK WATER, and shark attack shocker THE REEF – expertly builds and maintains the tension.  Combined with Michael Lira’s spine-shivering score the gripping atmosphere ensures that audiences will be left clutching the arms of their cinema seat and holding on for dear life.

UNHINGED takes an ordinary, everyday incident to its most terrifying conclusion in telling the story of a mother (Caren Pistorious SLOW WEST) who leans on her horn at the wrong time, to the wrong guy (Crowe).  ‘Road rage’ doesn’t begin to describe what he’s about to do to her and everyone she knows.

Directed by Derrick Borte (AMERICAN DREAMER) UNHINGED is written by Carl Ellsworth (RED EYE, DISTURBIA) and produced by Lisa Ellzey (WARRIOR, KINGDOM OF HEAVEN).

STAGE MOTHER sees conservative, Texas church-choir director Maybelline (Jacki Weaver, SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, ANIMAL KINGDOM) inheriting her recently deceased son’s drag club, and surprising her closed-minded husband, and everyone else she knows, by moving alone to San Francisco to save the club from bankruptcy.

In this raucous, racy new environment, she begins to open up and find new meaning for her life, even becoming a mother-figure to the club’s flamboyant performers… until a surprise visit threatens to upend her new life.

STAGE MOTHER is a heartwarming and uplifting musical comedy drama, set in the colourful and crazy world of a San Francisco drag club, that simply demands to be seen with an audience.

Directed by Thom Fitzgerald (CLOUDBURST) STAGE MOTHER also stars A-listers Lucy Liu (ELEMENTARY) and Adrian Grenier (ENTOURAGE), with real-life drag superstar Jackie Beat all but stealing the show as club hostess Dusty Muffin. Meanwhile the trio of singers at the club, including fast-rising star of the LGBTQ scene Mya Taylor (TANGERINE), will knock your socks off!

Like camp classics THE BIRDCAGE and THE ADVENTURES OF PRISCILLA, QUEEN OF THE DESERT, STAGE MOTHER is fearless, flamboyant and deliriously funny, and a delightful dash of optimism and acceptance in these trying times. So sling on your glad rags, throw on some glitter and glam, and let STAGE MOTHER into your life immediately!

BLACK WATER: ABYSS WILL BE RELEASED ONLY IN CINEMAS FROM 10 JULY WITH PREVIEWS FROM 4 JULY

UNHINGED WILL BE RELEASED ONLY IN CINEMAS FROM 17 JULY

STAGE MOTHER WILL BE RELEASED ONLY IN CINEMAS FROM 31 JULY

#BlackWaterAbyss

#unhingedmovie

#StageMother

Tags: , , ,